2018 IEA RA Delegate Nominations

Dear Region 67 members,
Nominations for Region 67 delegates to the Illinois Education Association Representative Assembly are now being accepted.  Local members were sent an email (Personal Email that is filed with IEA) on Monday, October 23, 2017 with details on the number of delegates and nomination process for Region 67 locals: City Colleges of Chicago (CCCLOC); Columbia College Chicago (USofCC) Clustered with Region 67 MISC; Roosevelt University (RAFO); Morton Community College (MCAFA); Triton Community College (TCAFA).  Nominations for the region-wide ethnic minority delegate are also being accepted.

Understanding the IEA Elections Process

A comprehensive video reviewing the IEA elections process, Elections Handbook and elections training materials is available below:

IEA RA delegates may only be nominated by and from active members within their primary local.  For Region 67 members who belong to more than one local, the local from which IEA-NEA dues are collected is considered your primary local.
All active members in good standing for the 2017-18 school year as of Monday, November 13, 2017, at 5:00 pm will be mailed a ballot on Friday, November 17, 2017, to vote by Friday, December 8, 2017.
·       Delegates are expected to attend the IEA RA for meetings beginning in the morning of Thursday, April 19, 2018 and to attend until the R.A. concludes on Saturday, April 21, 2018.
·       Delegates are expected to attend all scheduled business meetings of the RA.
·       Delegates attending the IEA-RA will receive reimbursement for approved lodging at the convention hotel, documented local transportation expenses, meals not provided by the region, and other related convention expenses (e.g. taxis).
The nomination period is Monday, October 23, 2017, through Monday, November 13, 2017, at 5:00 pm. 
Questions concerning the nomination process can be directed to Election Committee Chair Oscar Valdez, at ovunion@yahoo.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *